Ripe for Damnation: Sermons on the Book of Revelation – by Jonathan Edwards (1703–1758)


Are you hungry for more of Edwards’ sermons? On the book of Revelation? These new works are not found anywhere on A Puritan’s Mind, and there are new ones not found in his large 2 volume works. 4 deal with the plight of the wicked, and 2 deal with the bliss of saints in heaven. These sermons are powerful, practical, and biblical, glorifying the Lord Jesus Christ.


Ripe for Damnation: Sermons on the Book of Revelation by Jonathan Edwards (1703–1758)

File Types: PDF, MOBI and EPub
eBook download price: $4.99
eISBN: 978-1-62663-145-8

190 Pages, Print ($16.99) (Buy the Printed book HERE)
ISBN: 978-1-62663-146-5

Jonathan Edwards (1703–1758) was a preacher, theologian, and philosopher of the 18th century in New England. Edwards is widely acknowledged to be America’s most important and original philosophical theologian, and one of America’s greatest reformed preachers of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

The book of Revelation is one of the most studied works in the New Testament, and often has a tendency to be borrowed by fanatics and poor theologians to create a science-fiction type of “end times theology.” Edwards in no way encompasses that line of thinking. Instead, he draws six texts from Revelation, four to teach the plight of the wicked in hell, and two to teach the strengthening and bliss of the saints in heaven.

His sermons and texts are as follows: Ripe for Damnation, from Revelation 14:18-19 on God’s vintage winepress of wrath against the wicked. The Dangers of Decline, from Revelation 2:4-5 concerning the saint’s leaving their first love of Christ. Cold Nor Hot, from Revelation 3:15 concerning the manner in which wicked men profess to be Christian but live like the heathen. Approaching the End of God’s Grand Design, from Revelation 21:6 concerning the end of God’s plan to glorify himself in the wicked and the just. Serving God in Heaven, from Revelation 22:3 concerning the saint’s enjoyment of serving Christ for eternity. And, lastly, The Lamb’s Book of Life, from Revelation 6:15-16 concerning the wicked who desire the rocks and mountains to fall on them when they appear before the wrath of the Lamb, Jesus Christ.

This is not a scan or facsimile, has been updated in modern English for easy reading and has an active table of contents for electronic versions.